Print This Post
What is Quad? Read daily Article Editorials only on Success Mantra Blog

What is Quad?

Diksha Sharma 5 MINUTES

What is Quad? 

The quadrilateral security dialogue includes Japan, India, United States and Australia

  • All four nations find a common ground of being the democratic nations and common interests of unhindered maritime trade and security. 

Why is there a need for QUAD? 

China has grown in might and influence

  1. China tried to  influence Australia’s domestic policies, it slapped punitive tariffs on the country. 
  2. It is engaged in what has become a routine border confrontation with India
  3. China has flared up territorial disputes with Japan with regards to the Senkaku Islands and is battling a fully-fledged trade war with the United States
  4. China called it “Asian NATO”.

Significance of the QUAD

  • Quad is an opportunity for like-minded countries to share notes and collaborate on projects of mutual interest. 
  • Each is involved in development and economic projects as well as in promoting maritime domain awareness and maritime security.